Russia Launches Progress Freighter to Space Station

Russia Launches Progress Space Freighter to Space Station

06:57 26/01/2012 MOSCOW, January 26 (RIA Novosti)

A Russian Soyuz-U launch vehicle carrying the Progress M-14M cargo spacecraft has been launched toward the International Space Station (ISS) from the Baikonur space center, Russia’s Mission Control said on Thursday.

Launch of “Soyuz-U” with THC “Progress M14M”

The Soyuz rocket with the Progress M-14M space freighter blasted off at 03:06 a.m. Moscow Time (00:06 GMT) on Thursday. The spacecraft separated from the rocket and entered the orbit a few minutes later.

The freighter will deliver over 2.6 metric tons of supplies to the ISS. The cargo includes fuel, water and food supplies, as well as scientific equipment.

NASATV

The Progress’ docking with the ISS is set for 04:08 Moscow Time on Saturday (01:08 GMT).

Rollout of Soyuz-U space rocket on Jan. 24th with the Progress M-THC 14M

Progress-family freighters have been the backbone of the Russian space cargo fleet for decades. In addition to their main mission as cargo spacecraft, they are used to adjust the ISS’s orbit and conduct scientific experiments.

Credit: [ RIANOVOSTI ]

Related Links:

NASA Release

An unmanned Russian cargo ship launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome on a two-day trip to deliver almost three tons of food, fuel and supplies to the six crew members on the International Space Station. The ISS Progress 46 resupply craft launched in near zero-degree weather from Baikonur at 6:06 p.m. EST on Jan. 25 (5:06 a.m. on Jan. 26 Baikonur time). The spacecraft is scheduled to dock to the station’s Pirs Docking Compartment on Jan. 27.

 

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>